Oil Pulling for a Healthy Mouth

Oil pulling is an ancient Ayurvedic remedy for oral health and detoxification.  Some benefits can be to prevent bleeding gums, decay, dryness of the throat, oral malodor, cracked lips and strengthening teeth, gums and the jaw. Studies show that doing oil pulling for at least 45 days has the ability to reduce plaque and gingivitis.  A side effect is that your teeth look whiter and feel wonderful.

So, what exactly is it?

Oil pulling is the process of putting oil in your mouth(coconut, sesame, sunflower) and swish it/pull it through your teeth from 5-20 minutes before spitting it out in the toilet or trash when you are done.

How exactly do I do it?

a. Recommended oils are sesame, sunflower and coconut.(the traditional oils used in the Ayurvedic practices were the sesame and sunflower.  Coconut oil is fairly recent in use and has a milder taste than the other two.

b. It is to be done on an empty stomach(usually first thing in the morning or several hours after a meal. The reason for the empty stomach/several hours after a meal is that the oil pulling works with the saliva.  When your stomach is full, apparently you don’t have much saliva.)

c. Take a spoonful of the oil( start small with this…a teaspoon.  Your mouth is going to fill up with saliva while you are doing this and having a lot of oil may cause gagging in a lot of people.)  If you want to test how to do it, use water and practice the swishing , pulling and sucking the oil  through your teeth for 5 – 20 minutes.  Start with 5 minutes and work your way up.( I usually  put the oil in my mouth and then go in for my shower.  By the time I’m done, out and dressed, my 20 minutes are up.  )

d. After the allotted time, spit out the used oil into the toilet or the trashcan…do NOT spit it into the sink or swallow it…(spitting it into the sink may eventually clog your sink up…not a good thing!)  You don’t want to swallow it either cause the reason you are doing this in the first place is to detox…you don’t want the toxins to re-enter your body.

e. Rinse your mouth with warm salt water(sea salt and warm water…I just shake a small bit of salt into a mug and fill with warm water).   Salt water rinses alkalinize the mouth and is an astringent that speeds wound healing and reduces inflammation.

f. I also use a tongue scraper after the oil pulling and salt water rinse.  At this point, my teeth and mouth feel amazing.

I have been doing oil pulling for quite a while now and at first I just did the oil pulling.  What I noticed was that my teeth looked whiter and felt stronger.  When I added the salt rinse, my gums started looking and feeling better as well.  An interesting side effect was that my nails started looking healthier too…thanks to the oil that is being absorbed while doing the oil pulling.

I hope you will try the oil pulling technique.   The original process is said to cure about 30 systemic diseases ranging from headache, migraine, hypertension, diabetes, asthma, etc.  it is supposedly able to slow down the aging process.  I don’t know about any of that…but my mouth is healthier than it has been in years…so that is reason enough for me to continue with it.

til next time…Eva

 

references:  (globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/oil-pulling)

(foodmatters.com/article/oil-pulling-the-habit-that-can-transform-your-health)

(livescience.com/50896-oil-pulling-facts.html)

(woodlanddentla.ca)

 

2 thoughts on “Oil Pulling for a Healthy Mouth

  1. Awesome article Eva. I’ve been doing this for about a week now. It’s a funny feeling to begin with but now I actually look forward to doing it in the morning like you recommend! I’ve read about it a lot elsewhere and they all say to do it on an empty stomach. Why is this? Also do you feature your writing elsewhere at all? Great stuff!

    Like

    • Hi Mike, glad you liked the article and that you are enjoying oil pulling as well. Apparently, when your stomach is empty you have a lot of saliva available…which helps work with the oil to help detox your mouth. When your stomach is full, there is little saliva to work with. Hope you will continue reading my blog! Thanks for your comment! Eva

      Like

Leave a Reply

